Unparenting

What if they don’t live?

Do the safety briefing. Let them go.

I wrote those words just there back in 2016. It was the first time myself, friends and my husband were really discussing the questions and logistics around a bigger question;

What if I give my kid a freedom/responsibility – because they’re growing up fast and needing to detach as part of a new and natural stage – what if I do that and… and…  What if they die? 

The words above, in bold, are the ones I stuck down in a draft post to do a reckoning on;  they were the beginning of an answer we were all kinda formulating and which has crystallised for me in the years since. In that time one of my kids went on a whole holiday to Berlin with his pals (and without me) and then went and completely moved out this summer past.

If I had a pound for the number of times I have pictured said son falling out of any one of his new top floor flat windows while simply admiring a view or opening a blind I would have a decent stack of quids, by now. My brain likes to do this worst-case scenario imagery as a special, massively unwanted, self-horror gifting exercise. It’s part of my hypervigilance which flares from PTSD now and again and I’ve learned through therapy interventions that when I bring it into focus and look hard and lovingly at it, examining where it came from and why my brain would do this kind of thing, it helps to deconstruct unhelpful behaviour or feelings that might otherwise follow, and usually even makes me laugh and feel grounded instead.

dchtbc 2016 1

Recently, during a flare, one of my best friends and I sat and listed all the horrific ways we had pictured our fledged kids dying, thanks to the brain CGI movie that the experience of parenting adults often plays in the mind. It seemed like the right thing to do – to lean in fully to the macabre, deeply unlikely possibilities looping in our heads and torturing us, to throw light on them and see exactly what we were dealing with. We ended up in hysterical fits of laughter; hearing how ridiculous I am when I say things like, ‘Ok, well I’ve worked out how it’s possible for him to have a fatal accident while replacing a toilet roll’ is a great needle for puncturing an inflated fear with.

My son has had a word with me about it all too, as has his sister. Their points, paraphrased with swearing removed?

  1. Some credit, please. I am fairly invested in staying alive to enjoy my new found freedom.
  2. Mother, you are frightening me now as well as yourself.
  3. Oh my god, shut up mum.
  4. If you keep this up, I will send you gifs of me running down tenement stairs, wearing flip flops and holding open scissors between my teeth.

And so I have done the safety briefing, done the safety breathing, and let them go in different ways. And it actually feels really good. I’m acknowledging again I can’t control everything for my kids and that’s OK – this is a lesson I seem to revisit in different guises bi-annually, since commencing motherhood. That being the case, I think it might be good to factor this thought and behavioural change catalyst in as a constant point of mediation, for the kids and everything.

Roots and wings, Heather. Roots and wings.

4 responses to “Unparenting”

  1. This is timely – a friend and I have been discussing how the perceived “powerlessness” of parenting adult offspring, with agendas/lives/brains of their own, can morph into “pointlessness”. As in, if I am unable or not allowed to be a “good mother” (in my terms), due to them being adults who are making their own choices about whatever, then what is the point of me? And if they make a “bum choice” (again, in my terms), does that mean I failed to teach them something crucial? Cue existential angst…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lizzie, thanks so much for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚ I know exactly what you mean and that is such a good way of putting it – the paradox of pointlessness and powerlessness. Sheesh. I think we do ourselves a huge and very pragmatic, reasonable favour when we aim for ‘good enough’ in everything, rather than ‘good’, which so easily lapses across to ‘the best’ and into the territory of impossible targets which get us ruminating and looping in our thoughts. Also, I think that flipping things to think of mistakes as crucial waypoints in good, lifelong learning is an important thing for us to do – re the kids and ourselves. If we take it as written that we will make mistakes, and so will everyone, and change the focus from avoiding the mistakes based on the idea that the groundwork we’ve done is enough, then maybe we switch to a more helpful/realistic thought process of how will we be there for each other when things go less than brilliantly, and how good are we at modelling getting back up when things don’t go our way, because maybe that’s the more important life lesson than trying to get everything right first time?

      Also, I am kinda fascinated by how we are always influencing each other, and by we I mean everyone we come into contact with. So even when I think something really important has fallen on deaf ears, I often learn afterwards that it didn’t, and that instead it had an effect way after the conversation or interaction. This happens for me too – when someone lets me know they want me to change about something I often hear them in the moment, resist and reject a bit, call closure and then afterwards find myself thinking and changing a little or a lot, reporting back (or not) depending on who the interaction was with. I’ve seen my kids do this same thing, and the less wedded I am to having them commit to thinking through a change and then executing it quickly (like RIGHT NOW ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) the more likely they are to report back in future and say they thought it through and decided to give it a go… So maybe we need to take really, really long views on the effects of our parenting, the older our ‘kids’ get?

      Like

      1. Loving the “long view” – of course, the final lessons haven’t been worked through yet, by a long way.
        Reflecting on how much I want them to “get it right” first time and how much that desire comes from the teaching and modelling I grew up with and how getting stuff wrong was a very bad idea indeed. So, still plenty of learning at 65! Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank *you* Lizzie. Itโ€™s really lovely to hear your thoughts. I think if weโ€™re learning and ok with saying that out loud at every age, weโ€™re doing pretty damn fine. Xx

          Liked by 1 person

Commenting is easier now – hurrah!