52and40/20 Pigs Might Fly

IMG_1186

We took ourselves to Raasay in February.

A proper road trip – a long time in the car, sweets, music, stops for the dog to wee, chats about memories.  Maniacs in white vans, eye-spy and the name game.

Does it all sound perfect?

It wasn’t.  We fought, too.  There were hideous tensions as well as laughs and Kodak moments.  Families trying to keep growing together at the same time as letting kids grow up are like that, I reckon.  The wood of the construction makes different noises in different weather.

Roots and wings.

IMG_1059IMG_1080IMG_1082IMG_1216IMG_123252and40-1IMG_1297IMG_1358IMG_1408IMG_1438IMG_1474

Want more on 52and40?  Then click here and follow on Twitter.

Author: wordathlon

I'm Heather, I'm a writer and I live in Edinburgh. I like laughing, reflecting, getting lost in music, discovering great people, information and places. You can find me on Twitter @betamother or email me at wordathlon@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “52and40/20 Pigs Might Fly”

  1. Hey my kids are still relatively young and we always fight at some point(s) on holiday.

    Even a day trip wouldn’t be the same without one parent screaming, “This is supposed to be a fun day out”.

    I thought that was normal 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can no longer take photos with forced smiles, the irony’s just too much…. ‘look fake happy!’ Fuck that, plenty skies and places to point the camera at when the faces (including mine) are unwilling…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

