52and39/39 Rise, Fall and Wonder

IMG_9865

IMG_9884

52and39

IMG_9871

We watched the chimneys at the decommissioned Cockenzie Power Station being demolished on Saturday.  They touched, then fell together.

IMG_9874

IMG_9891

Years ago, a friend had two huge pieces of art in transit. Each was on chunky canvas, about two metres square.  I loved them before I even knew what I was looking at.  One featured a crane; yellow, powerful, enormous.  It looked limited, a tight muscle ready to be directed in careful dance.  The other was the red rivet and line detail of treated steel: a new building emerging amidst city shadows.

IMG_9898 IMG_9920

Author: wordathlon

I'm Heather, I'm a writer and I live in Edinburgh. I like laughing, reflecting, getting lost in music, discovering great people, information and places. You can find me on Twitter @betamother or email me at wordathlon@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

