52and39/36 Home Again, Home Again, Jiggety Jig

IMG_9505IMG_9488    IMG_9506

Ubuntu means two things, as far as I know.

I first knew it as the name of a free operating system on a PC  my husband built to prove to himself that no matter how hard Apple and Microsoft tried, they couldn’t catch his maverick ass.52and39

Ubuntu’s also something pre-dating computers and globalisation.  It’s something more important. It’s an ancient African word describing a humanist belief: a philosophy that humans are connected by the bond of a shared story and the power in openness to one another, like in a marketplace.

IMG_9511IMG_9508

You can find out more about Stockbridge Market and its traders here.  

Author: wordathlon

I'm Heather, I'm a writer and I live in Edinburgh. I like laughing, reflecting, getting lost in music, discovering great people, information and places. You can find me on Twitter @betamother or email me at wordathlon@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

